Abuja is located in the centre of Nigeria, within the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

Abuja is a planned city, and was built mainly in the 1980s. It officially became Nigeria’s capital on 12 December 1991, replacing Lagos, though the latter remains the country’s most populous city.

Abuja was chosen as the ideal place as it is located in the centre of the nation. Because of Nigeria’s ethnic and religious makeup, the government deemed the then-sleepy area a neutral place for all groups and persuasions. On December 21, 1991, the city officially became the country’s political capital.

Why was capital moved to Abuja?

Abuja, city, capital of Nigeria. … The site was chosen for Nigeria’s new capital because of its central location, easy accessibility, salubrious climate, and low population density and the availability of land for future expansion. It was the first planned city to be built in Nigeria.

The indigenous inhabitants of Abuja are the Gbagyi (Gwari), with the Gbagyi language formerly the major of the region language, and others in the area being Bassa, Gwandara, Gade, Dibo, Nupe and Koro. Geo-Historical facts about Abuja: In August 1975 the then Federal Military Government under Late General Murtala Muhammed convened a panel of experts to study, advise or recommend on the desirability of retaining Lagos as the Federal Capital of Nigeria.

May Also Interest You To Read – Open on a “New Tab”:

1.5 million Nigerians in Italy need passport – Diaspora organisation

Oòní Ògúnwùsì And The Jezebels By Rèmí Oyèyemí

People need to hear the truth: Why you should never assume people know the right thing. By Prince Lahbash

Loans from China now $3.59b, says DMO

The panel’s recommendation for the setting up of the new Federal Capital City at Abuja was accepted and the fFederal Government then promulgated Decree number 6 of 1976 which created the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abuja.

The master plan for Abuja defined the general structure and major design elements of the city that are now visible. More detailed design of the central areas of the capital, particularly its monumental core, was accomplished by Japanese architect Kenzo Tange, with his team of city planners at Kenzo Tange and Urtec company. Population of Abuja: At the 2006 census, the city of Abuja had a population of 776,298, making it one of the ten most populous cities in Nigeria. According to the United Nations, Abuja grew at the rate of 139.7% between 2000 and 2010, making it the fastest growing city in the world. As of 2015, the city is still experiencing an annual growth of at least 35%, still retaining its position as the fastest growing city on the African continent and one of the fastest in the world. Abuja has witnessed a huge influx of people into the city; the growth has led to the emergence of satellite towns such as Karu Urban Area, Gwagwalada, Lugbe, Kuje and smaller settlements to which the planned city is sprawling. The unofficial metropolitan area of Abuja has a population of well over three million and comprises the fourth largest metropolitan area in Nigeria, surpassed only by Lagos, Kano and Ibadan. Climate of Abuja: Abuja under Köppen climate classification features a tropical wet and dry climate (Köppen: Aw). The final report was submitted to the pioneer Executive Secretary of FCDA, Alhaji Abubakar Koko, on February 15, 1979. In the preface to the master plan, the following declaration was made by IPA:”The master plan for Abuja the new Capital City of Nigeria represents the culmination of 18 months’ work by the Federal Capital Development Authority (FCDA) board, several advisory panels consultants.

Without the unstinting efforts of these experts, the momentum now exhibited in the beginning of actual implementation of the new capital could not have been achieved. The plan itself represents a milestone in the process of building the new capital city. It is a necessary element in the monumental effort about to be undertaken by the Nigerian people.”

Abuja economy has rapid growth and has generated a lot of internal generated revenue for the government and individuals.

Examples; Real estate, Postal system,Transportation: Airport, highways, Rail, etc.

Abuja is also known as one of the states in Nigeria that provides quality post-secondary education. It’s speedily becoming an attraction for students due to the growing presence of both public and private universities.

Below is a list of public university of Abuja.

Universities;African University of Science and Technology

Baze University

National Open University of Nigeria

Nile University of Nigeria

University of Abuja

Veritas University.

Abuja also has about 6 or more international accredited universities and they are listed below;

International schools;

The Centagon International School, Maitama.

American International School of Abuja.

Whiteplains British School, Jabi.

École Française Marcel Pagnol

Abraham Lincoln American Academy, Abuja.

Abuja is a beautiful state in the African continent with a lot of beautiful places to explore.

Watch the tour guide by clicking on the picture below:

A redirect photo to watch Abuja tour guide
Click the redirect photo above to watch the tour guide


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.